Monday, January 14, 2008

A bit of History...Williams F1 Team

Williams F1 is one of the world's leading Formula One teams. Formed in 1977 by Frank Williams and Patrick Head, the company has secured 16 FIA Formula One World Championship titles. Nine of these titles have been won in the Constructors' Championship in association with Cosworth, Honda and Renault. The remaining seven titles are Drivers' Championships, won with Alan Jones, Keke Rosberg, Nelson Piquet, Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, Damon Hill and Jacques Villeneuve.

Today Williams F1 employs around 520 personnel at a 40ha technology campus based in the heart of the UK's 'Motorsport Valley' in rural Oxfordshire. The company's core competencies are the design and manufacture of Formula One race cars, and the deployment of this expertise in running the team's entries into the Grand Prix each season.

Away from the race track, Williams F1 has grown into a significant international business over a quarter of a century, and its achievements earned its founder, Frank Williams, a knighthood in the 1999 New Year's Honours List to augment France's highest decoration, the Legion d'Honneur. Corporately, Williams F1 has also been awarded two Queen's Awards for Export Achievement, and is today recognised as one of the most enduring and successful organisations in global sport.

The company's business model is relatively unique. Williams F1 is one of the very few wholly independent Formula One teams that exists purely to race. Its income is largely derived from sponsorship. Supplementing this are a number of secondary income streams, including an international business and conferencing facility at the company's Grove HQ, with an extensive interactive museum tracing thirty years of success in Formula One.

No comments: